United States of America

United States of America

Foreign participation in the telecom sector under scrutiny

04 Apr 2020

On 4 April 2020, the President of the United States, through executive order, established the Committee for the Assessment of Foreign Participation in the United States Telecommunications Services Sector. Its primary objective is assisting the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) "in its public interest review of national security and law enforcement concerns that may be raised by foreign participation in the United States telecommunications services sector" through reviewing applications and licenses for risks to national security and law enforcement interests and recommending to the FCC that it dismiss an application, deny an application, condition the grant of an application upon compliance with mitigation measures, modify a license with a condition of compliance with mitigation measures, or revoke a license.

The newly establish Committee shall be composed of the Secretary of Defense, the Attorney General, the Secretary of Homeland Security and any other official appointed by the President. Additionally, other Cabinet members and heads of agencies are designated as the Committee's Advisors, including the Secretaries of State, the Treasury and Commerce, the Director of the Office of Management and Budget, of National Intelligence, and of the Office of Science and Technology Policy, the United States Trade Representative, the Administrator of General Services as well as the Assistant to the President for National Security Affairs, for Economic Policy, and the Chair of the Council of Economic Advisers.

The Committee is granted with the authority to evaluate new applications as well as already existing licenses in the telecommunication sector.