United States of America

United States of America

Enacts a full prohibition on new investments by US nationals in the Russian Federation and other economic sanctions

06 Apr 2022

On 6 April 2022, the Government of the United States announced new investment-related sanctions in response to the situation in Ukraine. Additional measures consist of:

  • A full prohibition on new investments in the Russian Federation by nationals of the United States, regardless of their location;

  • Full blocking sanctions on two major financial institutions of the Russian Federation, Sberbank and Alfa Bank, freezing all assets of both entities interacting with the US financial system.

  • A ban on exports, re-exports, sales or supply, directly or indirectly, from within the United States or by nationals of the United States wherever located, of any category of services that may be determined by the Secretary of Treasury in consultation with the Secretary of State, to any person located in the Russian Federation.

  • A ban on any approval, financing, facilitation or guarantee of a transaction of a foreign person by a national of the United States in those cases where the transaction would be prohibited by the present sanctions package.