Eleventh Report on G20 Investment Measures

The report finds that most investment measures taken in the review period pointed toward greater openness and transparency or toward a mix of restrictiveness and relaxation. In the area of investment policies related to national security, three G20 members extended the list of industries or activities subject to security-related review mechanisms.

During the reporting period (November 2013 - May 2014), the following measures were adopted:

  • Six G20 members - Argentina, Brazil, China, India, Indonesia, and the Republic of Korea - amended their investment-specific policies during the reporting period.
  • Three G20 members - France, Italy, and the Russian Federation - amended their investment policies related to national security.
  • Nine G20 members - Australia, Canada, India, Japan, the Republic of Korea, Mexico, the Russian Federation, Turkey, and the United States - concluded five bilateral investment treaties (BITs) and five other international investment agreements ("other IIAs").

Go to Joint Summary of the Report