Eighteenth Report on G20 Investment Measures

The joint UNCTAD-OECD Report indicates that investment policy measures taken by G20 Members were mostly geared towards greater openness for foreign investment. At the same time, there has been an increase in policies related to national security.

During the reporting period (from mid-May to mid-October 2017), six G20 Members - Australia, Canada, China, India, Mexico, and Saudi Arabia - amended their investment-specific policies, with most of changes directed at liberalizing, promoting or facilitating foreign investment. Three G20 Members (Germany, Japan and the Russian Federation) took investment policy measures related to their national security.

Three G20 Members (Australia, China and Turkey) concluded four IIAs. Australia concluded the Pacific Agreement on Closer Economic Relations Plus (PACER Plus) with New Zealand and eight Pacific island countries; and China concluded the Closer Economic Partnership Arrangement (CEPA) Investment Agreement with China (Hong Kong SAR). In addition, Turkey concluded two BITs with Burundi and Ukraine.

The findings for this reporting period testify that G20 Leaders are committed to promoting an open, transparent and conducive policy environment for investment, while the investment flows remain volatile. Regular policy monitoring and public reporting in this area are important and should be continued.